top of page

Huevos Rancheros and Maya Angelou!


This blog is dedicated to all of my Mexican food lovin' West Coast chicks!

Jeannine, Emily, Ronda... you all know who you are!

So basically, if you don't get the Maya Angelou reference in this title, you are clearly NOT a fan of the Broadway musical, RENT. And for that, you should be ashamed.

Moving along...

Let's talk breakfast. Or brunch. Or when it comes to huevos rancheros, pretty much any time of the damned day!

I've not always been the biggest fan of breakfast because I've not been the biggest fan of breakfast type foods. More often than not, they tend to be super sweet (pancakes, waffles, french toast, etc.) or super greasy and fatty (sausage, bacon, etc.). I simply don't like it. Especially the sweet stuff. I can NOT hang with sweet being my first meal of the day. No. Just no.

However, there are 2 to 3 breakfast dishes that have always been at the top of my list as my favorites: eggs benedict, biscuits and gravy and huevos rancheros! Biscuits and gravy and huevos rancheros used to be neck and neck (with eggs benedict being a distant 3rd) but I think we finally have a winner! Ding! Ding! Ding! - Huevos Rancheros!

There are no words to express my love for Mexican food, so making my breakfast Mexican style will always win out in the end.

Today I made, what I would consider to be my best huevos rancheros to date! Part of the problem in the past was my inability to fry the perfect egg. I always ended up with either runny whites or a hard yolk. Ain't nobody want a part of dat!

I finally have a frying pan with a proper fitting lid and it made all of the difference. So let's get this party started!

This is a super simple recipe and stupid amounts of delicious!

The key facors: A perfectly ripe avocado, fresh cilantro and fresh jalapeno slices! This was the first time I've used jalapenos on my huevos and I'm simply ashamed of that!

Ingredients

Corn tortilla - 1

Egg - 1

Refried beans - 1-2 Tbs.

Pico de gallo - I usually would make from scratch but used store bought

Hot sauce - I have a love affair with Cholula

Cheese - would have used queso fresco but wasn't fond of the choices at the store. Used sharp grated white chedder

Avocado - a few chunks or slices

Cilantro - a few leaves

Fresh Jalapeno - a few thin slices

Black pepper - fresh ground

Method

Preheat oven to about 400 degrees

Place tortilla directly on oven rack for about 15ish minutes (Sorry I don't give precise times and measurements. Just pay attention to that shit so it doeasn't burn!)

Heat beans in the microwave. (That damned machine is a brilliant invention. Don't be asahmed to use it!)

Fry your egg. Put a LID on it. Do NOT flip it. The lid will help the whites set and NOT flipping it will keep the yolk from getting hard.

Spread beans on your baked tortilla

Grate or crumbled (depending on the cheese your using) over the top

Liberally drizzle with hot sauce

Place egg seasoned with a LOT of black pepper (Don't use that nasty, powdery shit either. I'm watching you!) on top of the beans

Top with pico de gallo and MORE hot sauce! No such thing as too much hot sauce

Grate a little more cheese on top

top with cilantro leaves, freshly cut chunks of avocado and thinly sliced jalapeno

Bam! You have one kick ass huevos rancheros!

Trust me on this. My huevos rancheros game is strong!

You will NOT be disappointed. <3


Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page